Spunky Spiders

Recently I have been seeing lots of spiders about. There are spider on the watering can, spider webs that Starlight and I run into on our trail rides, spiders about to lay there eggs on stair railings and spiders wandering around our house. I have identified two of the spiders: St Andrews Cross and Golden Orb Weaver.

I have taken some photos the spiders and done some research on them and I wanted to share my findings with you 🙂

St Andrews Cross – Argiope keyserlingi :

DSC04498

I found this young spider on the watering can in our yard. The grown up ones have a darker colour to this little one and because it is young, it’s  hard to tell this ones gender.

These spiders have much smaller males than females and it is only the females who have pretty, bright stripes on their abdomen, the males are a lot more hairy and darker coloured. Though, despite their differences in colour and size, both males and females make a white cross in their clear silk web. These spiders are not venomous.

Golden Orb Weaver 

I found this female yesterday and her belly is so full it looks like she is about to lay her eggs ! I got a really great photo of her letting out silk 🙂

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The name of the golden orb weavers refers to the color of the spider silk, not the color of the spider itself. Yellow threads of their web shine like gold in sunlight.

Scientists have found that the silk’s color may have two purposes:

  1. sunlit webs trap bees that are attracted to the bright yellow strands,
  2. in shady spots the yellow blends in with background foliage to act as a camouflage for the web.

Different species of Golden Orb weavers live in different parts of the world where it is warm.

I think these spiders are really cool and I love seeing them around (except when I run into them and get the web all over me!).

If you want to know more about spiders check out these websites Wikipedia and Find-A-Spider

I hope you all have a great day/night!

Kailani, Starlight, Belle and Vanilla xxx

P.S. Let me know in the comment if you have seen any spiders recently 🙂

3 thoughts on “Spunky Spiders

What did you think of the post? Let me know here :)

