Work and Play

picasion.com_60lU

Some of you are probably wondering about how I care for Starlight and the rest of my horses. So in this post I will tell you. It is not all play with horses, a lot of work is involved too like grooming, mucking out, cleaning tack, checking for injuries, treating injuries and lots more. Below I have written out my rough daily schedule:

7:00am Get up and take Starlight for a trail ride

7:30am Come home from trail ride and groom Starlight. Muck out his stall. Groom Belle. Muck out her stall. Groom Vanilla. Muck out her stall.

8:00am Have breakfast

9:00am – 2:30pm Do school work

2:30pm Have a jumping lesson on Vanilla or Starlight

3:00pm Groom Vanilla or Starlight from jumping lesson

3:30pm – 5:30pm go swimming and do things with my family

Evening  Ride Belle

Night Have dinner go to bed early so I can get up early.

That Schedule does not include things I have to do once a week like giving each of the horses a through wash with shampoo (I did Vanilla’s yesterday) or things like worming which have to be done every 4-6 weeks.

Here are some photos of my daily work:

DSC04123

First I put Starlight’s Halter

Then I start  grooming with the curry comb

Next I use the body brush

Then I use the muzle sponge

And pick out his hooves

Now it is time to muck out his stall so I lead him out and tie him up.

Once he is out I can muck out the stall

Now all that is done it is time for play!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I will do some jumping so I warm him up first at a trot:

Now for the Play!!!!

So now you see that as much as having horses is a lot of work it is also very rewarding 🙂

I hope you all have a great weekend and I will post again soon 🙂

Kailani&Starlight xxx

3 thoughts on “Work and Play

What did you think of the post? Let me know here :)

